Trophy winners are announced

RAISING a staggering amount of money per member for charitable causes, secured a trophy win for the Devon Federation of Young Farmers.

Robert Cann, who received The Prince of Wales trophy, reported that DFYFC raised £102.55 per member, equating to £136.082.72, and was donated to a variety of causes – some in the memory of former club members who had sadly passed away.

Fundraising activities have included an all-female tractor drive (none of which had driven one before), dung sales, a summer ball, bingo nights and turkey plucking to name but a few.

The NFU Trophy was presented to Carmarthenshire A for the county federation scoring the most points in the 2007/08 National Competitions Programme. The trophy was presented by president of the NFYFC, Lionel Hill.

Stealing The Merrick Burrell Tankard from Surrey FYFC were Staffordshire, who were recognised as the county federation achieving the largest membership increase over the past two years. The trophy was collected by Donna Tavernor.

Scooping The Tug Wilson Trophy for the county federation scoring the second highest number of points in the 2007/08 National Competitions Programme was Cumbria A, collected by James Nicholson.

The Sidney Fawcett Trophy for the member making the best contribution to the proceedings of the AGM was awarded to James Sage of Somerset YFC.

Last but not least was Warwickshire, whose competing efforts earned them recognition as the small county federation scoring the most points in the National Competitions Programme 2007/08. The Worshipful Company of Farmers’ Trophy was presented to Peter Harris.

Register your email address for Farmers Guardian e-bulletins

Get the latest from Farmers Guardian delivered straight to your inbox. Click here to sign-up today

Already receiving bulletins? Sign-in to edit your preferences