Royal Welsh Show preview: Recognising achievement

Multi-tasking Royal Welsh board of management member, Cyril Davies, is in for an even busier time at this year’s show.

He is the new chairman of the Council for Awards of Royal Agricultural Societies, the body set up by the UK's four national agricultural societies – the Royal of England, Royal Highland, Royal Ulster and Royal Welsh – to recognise distinguished achievement in agriculture and related land-based industries.

Mr Davies, of Lampeter, Ceredigion, who has worked as an adviser to the farming industry in Wales for 40 years, was one of the four directors of ADAS who formed the management buy-out team when the agency was privatised in 1997.

Subsequently, as executive director of ADAS Holdings until his retirement in 2000, he was responsible for all ADAS research and development centres and farms in England and Wales with 450 staff and a turnover of £25 million.

A Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Societies, he has also been involved in setting up most of the grassland societies in Wales.

An honorary life member of the British Grassland Society, of which he was president from 1987 to 1988, he received the BGS Award for his outstanding contribution to grassland knowledge in 1994.

One of Mr Davies' showground duties on Tuesday will be to present CARAGS awards to the latest Welsh recipients.

Fellowships 2009

RECEIVING Fellowships of the Royal Agricultural Societies will be:
Aled R. Jones, Lon Pant, Caernarfon, Gwynedd; John Price, Gwynfe, Llangadog, Carmarthenshire; Tony Thomas, Llancarfan, Vale of Glamorgan; Dafydd G. Jones, Rhoscefnhir, Pentraeth, Anglesey; Hudson Jones, Menai Bridge, Anglesey; Susan Jones, Whitland, Carmarthenshire; Philip Davies, Four Crosses, Llanymynech, Powys; and Lyn Richards, Llanwrda, Carmarthenshire.
Associateship awards will be presented to:
Gareth Vaughan, Dolfor, Montgomeryshire; Peredur Hughes, Llanddeusant, Caergybi, Anglesey; Ionwen Lewis, Llangranog, Ceredigion; John Homfray, Penllyn, Cowbridge, Glamorgan; David Jones, Machynlleth, Powys; Brian Rees, Abbeycwmhir, Llandrindod Wells, Powys; Eurgain Jones, Llansannan, Conwy; Sarah Byford, Usk, Monmouthshire; Dei Tomos, Nantperis, Caernarfon, Gwynedd; and Tegwyn Pughe Jones, Mallwyd, Machynlleth, Powys.

Register your email address for Farmers Guardian e-bulletins

Get the latest from Farmers Guardian delivered straight to your inbox. Click here to sign-up today

Already receiving bulletins? Sign-in to edit your preferences